Twin Atlantic – NME + The Macbeth, London 26/1

Sooo!

I started my day (my Monday that is) at 3am in the morning. And then it was downhill from there. I’d forgotten to check in for my flights, I had to take a cab to airport bus, my boarding pass didn’t work and well… Everything pertaining to getting from point A to point B during this trip was just a mess.

I DID get to London though, and even (after a long walk in the wrong direction) to the correct building. Because thanks to Devon, a tweet and Dead Crow Beer me, Laureen and April were all going to Twin Atlantics tiny set at NME Basement Sessions. It’s been a week soon but I still don’t think I’ve processed it. Anyway.
We went inside a tall office building and were met up by some lovely people from NME in the lobby. Took an elevator down to an actual basement (way to go!), got goodie bags and free beer. I had several because it was good beer.

After some chatting with the other people that were there, it was time to check out Twin playing a couple of songs. We were ten. Ten people in the audience haha, a bit awkward and very surreal. The band, while trying to keep their serious faces on, played Heart & Soul, Oceans and a James Bay cover that’s been stuck in my head since. It was great, even if the cover warranted a few (many) retakes, at least according to Sam.

Went back into the… mingle? room again, the band came out after a while and we got some nice pics with everyone. Chatted a bit, mainly with Barry, mainly about Nothing But Thieves haha. It was nice. The day went on with some food, awkward encounters with Twin outside a restaurant (THREE times) and, at last, it was time for the gig at The Macbeth. The one that actually happened this time!

Well, Twin gig happened, but Itch mercifully didn’t. Instead Murray from The Xcerts jumped up on stage and delivered an awesome acoustic performance. He didn’t even really need the microphone, what a voice!
Twin Atlantic did a great show as well, even if it was acoustic. They did a great job and even the crowd was pretty up and running by the end of the set. Heart & Soul is meant to be screamed by all, plugged in or not.

I’m not sure what to write really. It was such a weird and great day. Great people (who I should’ve mentioned more, I love you guys), great gigs, just a fantastic time. And… this will have to do. Here’s some blurry pictures!

2 responses to “Twin Atlantic – NME + The Macbeth, London 26/1

  1. wow, what a shout out! this sounds like it was so good 😀 we all gotta get to a gig together some day 😀

Leave a comment